June 5, 2013


The DSA (Driving Standards Agency) have announced that as of 2014 the check test for ADI’s will no longer be called check test and will be known as ‘standards check’.

The new name is there to reflect what the DSA really want to check and the three main areas to be assessed will be:

Lesson planning

Risk management and teaching

Learning strategies

During the new assessment, examiners want to see the trainer encouraging the learner to take ownership of their learning and allow the learner to reflect on their own performance, goals and strengths and weaknesses.

With 16 boxes on the new test sheet and a possible three marks to be awarded per box, a trainer can score a maximum of 48 points.

It is hoped the new scoring system will make it easier for trainers to identify their strengths and weaknesses, which will help them develop their skills and achieve the highest grade possible.

What are your thoughts on this article? Send your views to Britannia Driving School by using the comments link below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *